3D milling - Fusion 360

Hi Guys

I’m keen to mill this part from wood using a 1/8 round nose cutter.

But I have little experience making 3D objects in fusion. I think I’d want to do a 2 pass program - rough it out then run a final pass. Can anyone recommend which programs to use? I’m thinking adaptive clearing then radial but machining time on the radial is like 30 minuets which seems excessive for a 40mm disc…

3 Likes

Presuming the side not in view is flat, this is a single setup job, and I would do it with two tools.

In Fusion, the easiest (IMHO) way to set it up – not the most efficient, but the easiest – would be to run 3D adaptive over the whole thing using a square nose bit to rough, leaving about 0.25mm (radial and axial) for the finishing. Then, I would use the ball end to do finish passes using contour and spiral (spiral is for regions less than about 45 degrees from parallel to the x-y plane, and contour is for those more vertical than that… It has to do with whether the horizontal step or vertical step is dominant) Use spiral for slope from 0 to 45 degrees (slope selection is in the second tab), followed by contour from 40 to 90 degrees. The stepover (spiral) and stepdown (contour) should be selected for the cusp residue you are happy with. You want to let the tool go outside the boundary of machining to get all of the way to the bottom of steep vertical walls at the outside of the part.

The time depends on the radial and axial engagement of the tool, as well as the travel speed. You are removing a lot of material with a small tool. It will take time. Check the settings and match them to the material, but 30 or more minutes is reasonable. If you prep the material as a disk rather than a square profile, that will save a lot of machine time, but the additional prep time will likely be greater than machining time saved, unless you are running a lot of parts.

2 Likes

Thanks for this, very interesting. 2 questions.