Drawing path for 1/32” endmill

I’m trying to mill letters that are the exact same width as my 1/32” endmill. I draw the letters as closed polylines in AutoCAD and import them in Carbide Create as a .dxf file. To achieve an efficient tool path, I want each pass to fully millout my letter (not take two passes at the same depth to mill out the stroke of an “i” for example). CC sometimes has problems (see dashed line in attached photo, it should be solid line) where there is a turn in the stroke of the letter. I drew this as 0.031” diameter with the inner radius at 1/2 the diameter. I’ve tried 0.03125”, 0.0313, 0.0312” diameter and all have the same issue (dashed line instead of solid line). Does anyone know why this is happening, or how to accomplish what I am after?

Note: It is important the lettering is exact as the pockets receive inlay.

I’m no CC pro here but I think the problem you have is the curve is made up of a series of straight lines. If the width of the letter is exactly the width of the cutter, every time the curve transitions from one segment of straight line in the curve to another the cutter is not able to pass through without going over either the outside or inside line. Thus CC resolves by having the cutter retract/plunge around each part the cutter can’t fit into. If you look closely at the image you posted every retract is around a point of the curve.

Not sure if it’s a solution for you but think CC has a toolpath that just follows a line instead of being constrained in between two lines. Might work better for you.

Hope that helps!

1 Like

You should do a V-carve tool path instead of a milling tool path. The machine and program really do not care what you V-carve with.

In order to do a pocket toolpath the pocket must be at least 10% larger in its smallest dimension than the diameter of the endmill used.

You should be able to do what you wish using Toolpath | Contour | No Offset

1 Like

Hi Brent,