Epoxy, CA glue inlays

I’m looking to start experimenting with inlays, filling them with dyed epoxy or CA glue. Starbond, Alumilite, etc. Gorilla makes clear epoxy in syringe form as well, also comes in a solid black. Anybody have experience with any of these and can provide insight into using them?

1 Like

If your final product will be finished, lacquer or equivalent, I’d recommend CA glue. I made guitars with fancy inlay for years and found that epoxys will shrink a bit leaving a slight indent around the inlay, After switching to CA glues, this issue went away.

I’ve seen it said that CA glue has a “negative index of refraction”. As a retired physics teacher, I fail to see how this could literally be true based on strict definitions. But the point was that light would, upon entering any glue filled spaces, bounce around internally in such a way as to reduce the visibility of the line. I found this also to be the case.

That said, I tested my first inlay with the Nomad and saw nary a line!

2 Likes

If you decide to go with CA, you need other options than mixing a color into the glue as you can with epoxy. There are a few ways to do this.

The avatar I’m using on this site shows MOP and silver inlaid into ebony. If inlaying into a black pocket like this you can find black CA glue, and amber, at stewmac.com. You can also use one of their slower setting CA’s then rub some fine dust, sanded from the substrate you’re using, into the crack. Or, if your inlay can tolerate some sanding, press the dust into the crack and add a thin CA on top. (This assumes you’ve already applied glue to the bottom of the inlay to secure its attachment.)

3 Likes