First Project - Clamp Support

Hi everyone, after putting my XXL together and a couple of quick tests I’ve just tackled my first design and cut project. Being a total newbie to CNC it’s been a good learning process and I thought i’d share it…

CONTEXT - I read a post about proper clamping by @RichCournoyer Work Part Clamping and took away the parts I liked (keeping your clamps level with the workpiece) and ignored the parts I didn’t (don’t use plywood clamps - I’m using plywood clamps…). To start with I achieved the level clamping by using scraps of wood I had lying around. This was fine, but it meant searching for scraps, resizing scraps if they were too big etc and I could see it becoming a pain over time. So I decided to make myself a multi-height clamp support.

DESIGN - I used Carbide Create for this project. My initial design was a simple square with 4 different height supports. It seemed a bit simple and I thought 4 different heights wasn’t enough. I progressed to six in a hexagon pattern. This seemed to have a lot of wasted space and I felt like I could make a slicker design so I added the smaller rectangles between the hexagon wedges - this gave potential for 12 different height supports and I thought it looked pretty good. It was at this point it became logical to put the Carbide 3D “C” logo in the middle - that said they haven’t seen it and do not endorse this product in any way! I just thought it fitted neatly.
The smaller rectangles are 27mm wide - which gives 1mm clearance either side of the typical Carbide 3D clamps.

Design Evolution