First timer seeking advice

I’m pulling the trigger and getting an XXL to cut down on the amount of time i spend on the band saw. I’m wondering if i can v carve with the stock software. I have been dabbling in carbide3D to get as acclimated as possible and i see the v carve option but I read it will not in fact v carve. Part 2 is i plan on using meshcam and carbide3D, will i be limited at all in my ability to carve in full 3D? My understanding is 2.5D is the limit with the supplied software but with meshcam or solidworks or fusion360 full 3D is possible. I thought deciding on which machine would be the hard part but choosing software seems to be much more of a challenge.

Excited to be a part of this community and appreciate any help you can give.

Hi welcome to the CLUB!!

I am not an expert at all but here is my opinion experience.

1. I have done Vcarving on the carbide create it works ok but I made the decision to go to Fusion 360 as this would give me more abilities / functionality to do lots of cool things! however the v carving on fusion 360 is a bit harder but once I got to grips with it I would say that it is better that carbide motion. However there is a dedicated software for v carving (think it is called V-carve) however it is in my opinion very expensive but allot of people say it is the defacto gold standard for Vcarving

2. Meshcam never used it so cant comment sorry.

3)Fusion 360 is a massive learning curve and I would say that having used it for 3/4 months I am now able to create basic shapes designs with ease and for more complex things like simulating the hinges on boxes etc I can do but take time, I found the following invaluable in my learning

Learn fusion 360 in 30 days youtube series (excellent pace and learning) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DrLOPJq_stc

NYCNC - has loads of good videos about f360