Hello World Variation

Greetings,
I’m new to CNC and quite pleased with the process of the new journey.

Began with reading through the forums specifically looking for the machine capabilities, wow! Ordered a Shapeoko a week ago and have since been reading through the setup and first usage posts. I’ve also downloaded Carbide Create (CC) and Carbide Motion (CM) and started some beginner testing.

One test I would like to do immediately after ‘Hello World’ is to run my own variation of this project to test my CC .c2d file creation and ability to load into CM and successfully run a project before mounting the router and cutting. I’ve only seen the ‘Hello World’ test file as a .tap or GRBL file but not as a CC file. I’ll be the first to admit that I could be missing it though. But if it doesn’t exist I have three questions relating to the toolpath:

1. Should I use Contour, V Carve or Texture?
  2. What tool should I select?
  3. What depth should I set?

Thanks!

@MikeG the only thing that I did differently was that after driving a bit straight through my workpiece and into the spoilboard, was to practice cutting air. I would set up my designs and my material, zero all 3 axis’, then move my Z-axis up about 0.5 inches above my maximum cut depth and re-zero only my Z axis. I then went through the entire cut sequence (cutter turned off) to regain some faith in my machine after snapping a bit into small metal shards. I found what did…and didn’t work.

“Air-cutting”

1 Like
  1. Contour - No Offset
  2. doesn’t matter — a small one which matches the thickness of the pen line will give the best preview
  3. Open up the file box_logo.nc in a text editor. Note that it contains the line: G21 (sets it to metric) and G1Z-0.254F1524.0 — plunges to 0.01 inches

Will - Bob,