I made tabs in Carbide Create

Reading a lot, read a topic from last year requesting tabs as a feature, I am new to CNC and by no means am suggesting this as a how to but more as a IS this how to make tabs. I dare not try to open a gcode and am desiring to contain my lack of knowledge and my emphasis on learning one software at a time so makercam and inksplot (as I would transgress in it) are not in my equation. I want tabs, as most others do, CC can’t do it. So I am simply stating this is how I did it in CC and it appears to work in simulation view. (ps I don’t have my machine yet) . I don’t know if this is more work than it is worth and I dare not try to explain my process to such extremely experienced and knowledgable folks as yourself ( this is respect not sarcasm). Please look at the uploads and you will know about how I did it than I do (I am sure). I did use 0…253 as a rectangle width and pocketed the border because of another topic I read aboutoverlap rect corners making tabs.c2d (413.3 KB)

CC can not drill a .25 hole with a .25 bit but a .253 hole it can pocket… I do read the topics. Any comments are welcome please. Thank you all.

6 Likes

I’m concerned about no replies, I sincerely hope I didn’t offend the forum. If I did I’m sorry. I’m a 60 yo recluse who doesn’t social network (not an excuse). Anyway I have been learning CC while I await my machine and have been testing my thoughts.