Key chain inlays with Nomad

I am CNC self taught using our public library’s 883. I create ~2" hardwood key chains with Walnut, Maple and Cherry inlays. Love the Nomad for its precision. Here are some images and a couple examples:

I use a .015" end mill for the base and inlay to provide adequate detail and a good fit of the mirror image in the inlay. Inlay depth is 0.05"

I also do similar inlays for 3.75" coasters:

The Nomad is amazing. I try to spend about 7 hours every saturday creating something new. An now the library lets me teach a 101 (2 1/2D) CNC class. We are creating a small but enthusiastic community!

32 Likes

I retire in 2 years. Hope to make this my retirement hobby. Meant to share my pinterest board with additional images: https://www.pinterest.com/greglkunz/my-cnc-creations/

2 Likes

@tinkereratheart Those look great! What software are you using to create the models?

I use photoshop elements (old/inexpensive version) for circular and arc text; Inkscape for scanning pixel art and precise letter kerning (space between letters is critical in outside cut of mirror images); and, with recent feature adds, a lot of the vector design is just in Carbide create.

4 Likes

Nice, how long does it take to mill with such a tiny bit?

Beautiful work, and inspirational!

1 Like

I’ve never really done inlays. After you glue, or don’t glue, the wood into the slots, do you run a surfacing path to remove the back of the inlay part and level it?

These look great!

Thanks!