Leaving Nomad on over night? Whats the worst that could happen?

I am a teacher and dont have access to this 24/7 obviously. However I am nervous to leave this on overnight working. Everything is locked down, however i still would be nervous to leave it.

Carbide motion doesn’t support a “pause” function that pauses the cutting tool correct? That would make me feel better, idk if thats any safer…

It has pause. Just don’t hit quit.

1 Like

First, it depends oh your level of programming. Are you 100% sure it’s a good program?

Next, some will say to NEVER leave your machine alone, well, I come from industry, and unless that spindle is turning, it isn’t making you money. Meaning “Light’s Out” or unattended machine is quite normal, and something that I teach and do almost daily.

A cheap IP Network camera is also a great tool to check in on once in a while.

Feel free to ask a guy who does it all the time any questions that you may have.

PS I left my GRBL board on for almost 2-weeks, so no problem there either.

3 Likes

In a school situation, I would be careful, as the goals are not the same as in industry.

If cutting flammable material (especially wood), do not leave it unattended. A hangup in the program or of the machine can lead to enough frictional heat to get the dust burning.

If cutting materials of low fire risk, it is still not a good idea, but primarily because the nomad has no provision for detecting tool breakage or loss of position, meaning that an overnight run may just be wasted time and material in the end, or even a damaged machine.