Machining an acrylic lens from cast acrylic

Okay, I’m a total newbie at this but our library has a nomad 883 that I can use and I want to use it machine out some custom acrylic lenses for some optical experiments. Does anyone foresee any potential problems? They’ll be fairly small and light (15mm thickest at the most, about 40 mm wide). Mostly some concave lenses. Thoughts?

The Nomad only has 3 axis of movement meaning the cutting tool only approaches the work piece from one direction. With appropriate techniques to ensure accuracy, you can do multiple sided machining, but a smooth curve like a lens will be approximated within the confines of your cutting tool and step over. It might work, but I suspect you’re gonna need to do significant work on the lenses after the Nomad is done with them.

2 Likes

Using the Nomad for the rough shaping is very do-able. I don not think you will be able to get a finished lens. You will need to do final figuring and polishing after machining. I would guess you can get to within 0.05mm (50 microns) or better using fine finish cuts and a good ball end tool, but the surface will not be optical quality and will have scalloping (waves due to the tool end shape). Doing final figuring by hand is not terrible, but is definitely not for the faint of heart the first time. The tools to support this process (surfacing and measuring) are likely more money that it would cost to purchase pretty much any set of lenses unless you already have them, though you can make some of them yourself.

Commercial manufacturing is done by casting and final polish with a machine for lower end, and grinding and polishing for higher quality. These days the polishing is done on specialty CNC machines that avoid the artifacts you get with an x-y-z coordinate design like the Nomad and hold a micron or less positional accuracy.