MeshCAM and Carbide Motion Workflow

I’ve been trying to follow a lot of this stuff for how to use MeshCam with Carbide Motion. I have had several issues. I think what is hardest for me to wrap my head around is the user interface and how it relates to the steps. Are the steps linear or can they be non-linear.
Steps:
Load file into MeshCAM.
Define Stock
Define top of stock or geometry of file?
etc…
Then in Carbide Motion I load file first, then move cutter to define 0 x,y,z, then zero program?
There seem to be many steps that I don’t understand the necessity of.
There are surely special instances where many of these features and all of this freedom to adjust stuff makes sense, but I am still learning all of this stuff.
Why can’t I just say at this point (I move the cutter) it is zero (as in 0X, 0y, 0z) of the stock in Carbide motion. As I’ve already defined in MeshCAM the part inside the stock, wouldn’t it be easiest to just start from that location? I think I need to start with a novice interface that assumes that I know a little bit about the process, but holds my hand through things like surfacing the spoil board. BTW, shouldn’t that be the first task for a beginner like me to start with? I’m not screaming here, just streaming a few thoughts out. I’ve been trying to surface the spoil board without success, just “invalid” errors and some close calls. Thanks for your time.

1 Like

Hi Tem,

Prior to surfacing the board, since they’re pretty flat from the start unless there’s something “off” with them, would be to cut the tutorial parts, which walk you through using the two interfaces.

The general work-flow from Idea to part is:

1. Import CAD/Image into MeshCAM
  2. Process file to get to creating tool-paths, including setting the program zero position relative to the stock
  3. Export the tool-paths to g-code as a ‘Your_Project.nc’ file
  4. Open that file in Carbide Motion, and set the physical location of zero in the machine to match what you set in MeshCAM