Millenium Falcon - Diamond drag bit

13 Likes

Hi, trying to get some help, as I would like to make the same thing to my friends son. I’m very new in cnc (bought it 3 days ago) and I have no clue what and how to do to get this result. Would you be able to help me please and share the file, settings and bit what you used please? I don’t mind figure out myself but I only have few days to make it… thank you in advance!

Hey @mmackoka,

For this kind of projects you typically need:

• a suitable vector file: if you are in a hurry AND want to stay on the right side of the legal line, the quickest way is to buy one. Search for “millenium falcon svg” on Esty and there a several available, for a few bucks.
  • a “diamond drag bit”, it’s a spring-loaded tool with a diamond tip, that you install in the router but do NOT spin, and assuming you loaded the vector file in CAM software and created an engraving toolpath that follows the vector features, the bit will scratch the surface of the acrylic in just the right way.
  • a 1/8" square endmill, preferably single flute, to do the acrylic cutout. There are several examples of appropriate feeds and speeds to cut acrylic here on the forum, once you’re there we can help you with this.
  • The same 1/8" endmill can probably be used to cut the wooden base.

What machine do you have and what CAD/CAM software will you be using ?

2 Likes

Thank you for your help, appreciate it. I only purchased the cheap chines 3018 and I have mac computer so just realised that, the apps are very limited. I started using easel and find it easy to understand it. Want to start with few small things to at least understand the cnc world and later if I’m confident with it will may looking a bigger machine. I have the 1/8 bit, will order the drag bit and ruin few sheets of acrylic sheets. :slight_smile:

That’s a very sensible approach.

I’m not familiar with Easel but it can import SVGs, and I guess it supports the creation of engraving toolpaths.