My introduction out of the way

Hello! Not sure if introductions here are a thing, but figure it would be a good way to break the ice for me.

I haven’t been a long time owner of my Shapeoko (April '18) nor have any professional workshop or machining background. I just love learning tech and making things, be it on the computer (I am a software developer), 3D printer or recently with the Shapeoko. I mostly have designed and made parts for the machines I have, the growing hobbies (RC, Photography) that burn holes in my pocket or my motorcycle down for the winter.

I eventually want to adventure into aluminum, to fabricate parts for my motorcycle (particularly working on a dash for the additional accessories installed) but at the moment been prototyping in HDPE. I used this as an excuse in getting @Luke’s famed HDZ, along with some other Black Friday upgrades (I could easily be diagnosed as what someone in the photography world would call “GAS” - Gear Acquisition Syndrome).

In the process, while testing pins on the Carbide Motion Controller board (was working on installing new home switches and [additional] spindle control) I believe I sent 24v into a pin that couldn’t take it :laughing: (POP!). So, yet again used it as an excuse to do one more upgrade, with quite the steep learning curve I have found! I decided on replacing the board, that is Mach compatible and ended up on something different than most (i.e. SmoothStepper or UCxxx), a PoKeys57CNC. I just finished getting Mach4 and the PoKeys controller working smoothly, and still need to dial in steps/unit. Also, still need to design a controller box and interface, along with rearranging wires :slight_smile:

I think ppl share photos of their machines as if it was their kid, so…

6 Likes

That is awsome! (And welcome aboard!) Would be interested to know your impressions of the Pokeys57cnc once you are fully up and running!

With no experience with the other contenders, I am pretty impressed with the functionality.