Newbie Expecting My XXL any day! Convert JPEG to vector?

So finally decided to join the carbide 3d family! I’m brand new to CNC so I’m sure I’ll have plenty of questions on here.
First is I was wondering the exact steps to take a regular pic downloaded from the Internet and get the machine to read them. They need to be SVG file correct? So whats best process to convert to a vector file? I don’t want to hand trace I find that to be to time consuming if I have many images. I’m talking about high detail pics like a wolf face with all detail. What’s the best way and not lose to much detail?

1 last question I have yet ordered and endmills or anything going back and forth on whats really necessary just to get started and to play around with the machine and get a feel for everything…maybe 1 endmill 1 ball cutter 1 v carve? What did you guys buy just to start with?

Sorry so many questions pls don’t shoot me haha…thanks in advance for any and All Help!

2 Likes

Carbide Create, which is the default CAD/CAM app for a Shapeoko only directly accepts DXF and SVG files for making 2.5D G-Code. It will allow one to place a JPEG or other pixel image on a background layer and re-draw it as described here: https://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Carbide_Create_Photo_Tracing or you can re-draw or auto-trace the pixel image in some other vector application, then export to an SVG and process that.

To directly process a JPEG there are a couple of options:

For endmills, I suggest having dupes of any you’ll be using: https://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Endmills#Shapeoko_3

2 Likes

So in actuality I dont need to spend any extra money per month on photoshop or illustrator I just need to buy mesh Cam and it will take any pic I download off the internet and accept it and make vector and cut on my XXL machine…is that correct? That will be so much easier and better cost! Thanks

1 Like