Noob here. 1st wasteboard attempt tonight, didn't turn out great. Advice?

Passed the hello world test with flying colors. But tried my hand at a wasteboard tonight. Should have known something was up in the first pocket the endmill made a endmill size shape on the outside of the pocket before it rounded it out.

After that everything seemed alright until the through hole. All of them until the last several rows were off to the right.

Also none of the through holes actually went through

Again this is all new just looking to try and get this right.

Thanks! !
Using #201 endmill

15254989769253788236440247293756|375x500

Hi Stephen,

It would seem to me that the X/Y alignment issues could be due to loose X/Y belts, since the shift is not constant but seems to vary depending on the X/Y positions of the pocket/hole => double-check this first maybe ? i.e. that both belts are “guitar-string tight”.

About the Z problem / holes not going through,

• again you could check the Z belt tension first ?
  • does it go through for some holes and not others ? if so, it could be that the machine squaring is not perfect, and/or that the MDF stock is not as flat as you think, and/or that the MDF thickness is not quite what you think it is (i.e. did you measure it with a caliper, and adjusted hole depth in the CAD design, presumably Carbide Create?)

Cheers,
Julien

1 Like

Thanks Julien!

Yep using carbide create. Talked to the creator know Instagram and he said that leveling file that I got with this would open the holes when the other side of the board was leveled.

I need to check the tension on all of the belts I guess. Read last night that they need to more lose that tight but not so lose they slip. Correct?

Also I think I’m over thinking this but on the left Y carriage if pulled by hand slowly has a “catch or vibration and few inches” Im guessing it’s the essentric nuts. I was so tired of messing with it I just went to bed I’ll check them today.