Pocket carving around letters for raised effect

Hello all, I am new at all of this but gaining quickly thanks to the expert advice on this forum.
My quest for today is to learn how to create this effect on HDU or similar material.

I would like to have a raised border & graphics on a recessed background. And, then to make matters even more complicated, is it possible to shape the raised graphics with a V bit?
Please reference a tutorial if possible.
Thank you!
Don

We have an incomplete one which touches on the simple aspect of this using Carbide Create:

as the above notes, the difficulty is that Carbide Create won’t depth limit.

This image illustrates the difficulty:

Of course, if one has a drawing program which will offset paths, this is handled quite simply. Hang on, let me draw something up…

Okay, one wants an original more-or-less like the dark parts of this:

original on the wiki at: file soc3d.svg

Then you have to select some paths and inset them by twice the distance which the center of the endmill would be from an edge when cutting as deeply as you wish to allow it (the grey lines).

Then, you import it into Carbide Create:

3 Likes

Will, this looks perfect… exactly what I am looking for.
However I don’t understand: "Then you have to select some paths and inset them by twice the distance which the center of the endmill would be from an edge when cutting as deeply as you wish to allow it (the grey lines)."
This appears to be an SVG file but I cannot import it into Carbide Create?

If you follow the wiki file link you’ll be able to d/l an SVG — the problem is, it doesn’t seem to work in Carbide Create — trying to sort that out now.

You can get an output that matches your example photo by utilizing the pocket feature.

boat_club_example.c2d (1015.2 KB)

Now - if you wanted to v-carve those raised letters - it gets more difficult: