Pockets cutting too deep

I am very new to CNC and Shapeoko. But I setup a design file in Carbide Create to cut pockets at 1/4” max depth. Then sent it to Carbide Motion and the pockets are being cut almost or possibly the full depth of the stock within his 3/4”. Any thoughts?

Hi stringhunter - I’m very new as well but if this was happening to me i’d;

• make sure I’m setting my Z zero at the start of the job properly.

• make sure I don’t have “use stock bottom” checked in Carbide Create for any of your toolpaths

• people may roll their eyes at this one but when you design something the “height” in the design tab isn’t the “height” of the cut - you set that in “toolpath”. That sounds ridiculous as I type it, but it was a mistake I made on my very first cut.

It sounds more like a settings issue than a mechanical issue. I’m sure someone will probably ask for the g-code to check your settings but I don’t know how to do that yet…good luck.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply! I did zero the machine before starting and I do not have the bottom of stock box clicked, I think the tool path is where I set the max depth. And actually I misspoke earlier, I set it to cut .125 and my total stock depth is .80. I would love someone to tell me if I made a mistake somewhere because this issue is taking a small sign project that should have taken an hour to something that is going for over 5 hours now.

I sent you a PM stringhunter

I suggest you check the G-code:

• does the max cutting depth displayed in CM when you load the file look correct?
  • better yet, use any g-code viewer (I like this one) and visualize how deep your gcode tells the machine to cut.

If the gcode is correct, then you know you can focus on a setup/machine issue. If not, it’s something in your CC project

1 Like