Speed up cutting time without losing quality?

Hey Guys

I’m just learning Meshcam before my Nomad arrives in December…

I’ve just done a test tool path using the parameters set out in Apollos Flip Frame tutorial, but it said it would take 67.6 minutes to cut per side.

Any ideas how I could speed this up?

Thanks Tim

I would say remove rought strategy

Your step over for the roughing is much too small. You can go up to 70, 80 or even 90% of the bit size for the step over - so .1" ish step over.

Also, you can speed up the feed and speeds for the roughing, assuming it’s hardwood. 50 to 60ipm feed would be fine.

thanks guys I don’t know what I’m doing yet :slight_smile: lol

Thanks Anton42 and Darren got it down to 22.4 minutes changing the roughing, feed and speed rates :smiley:

I’d point out that there are advantages and disadvantage to climb vs conventional milling, and also there are cases where going too slow or conservatively is actually worse for the work-piece and tooling than cutting too aggressively. Therefore I’ll recommend the following CNCcookbook articles:

Climb Milling vs Conventional Milling & 10 Tips for CNC Router Aluminum Cutting Success, which has some good general guidelines that apply to other materials as well.

-Jonathan

Thanks Jonathan, will look at them now. On the plus side my flip frame arrived from the USA today!

In general I’d advise against more than a 50-60% stepover where roughing is needed. Depending on the geometry, MeshCAM might leave unmachined “pillars” where there is too little overlap on the roughing passes. That is more a concern in enclosed pockets, rather than the “open” geometry here. Just a heads-up.

Randy

2 Likes

Good point Randy. With a ball cutter you need to lower the step over. I should have clarified - if you are using a flat cutter, you can use a high step over value