Tips for Using Cam Clamps

Hey all,

I’m fairly new to CNC-ing, been having good luck with Nomad Pro + vice machining parts in Delrin & aluminum. I made the jump to High Tech Systems’ sea-of-holes plate to give myself a little more flexibility in clamping. While I ordered, I figured I’d try out his cam clamps.
http://www.hightechsystemsllc.com/pt_NomadPlateWithCams.html

I have yet to actually machine a part using them, as I can’t tell if the stock is fully secured. Anyone have some tips or tricks to ensure proper holding with the cams?

Thanks!
Dan

I’m not sure you can tell if stock is fully secured with any holder.
That being said I always try to wiggle it to see if it moves (Just habit I guess)
I had some cams that I made out of wood. They work ok, but I realized I wanted more surface friction later.

Now I use a board across the bottom and top that has some rubber on the inner lips allowing friction across the entire part on both sides. For all aluminum (I only machine thick plates) I use a down force clamp screwed into my t-tracks.
You could do the same with your bed of holes.

If you can get one full corner L shaped on your bed then cam the outer 2 edges against it, it should work well. If you angle the L shaped corner so as to allow the material so squeeze top surface down toward the bed, it will be even better. That is what I use when I use cams.

3 Likes

Thanks Robert - I really like the L with angled edges. I’ll work on milling one out to use.

I had success yesterday with a 6x6x0.25" piece of 6061 stock using the cams. I used the straight pieces on two edges, then cammed in the two opposing edges. I just hand-tightened them in place, and I couldn’t see the stock move at all during machining. I think the trick was pushing the cam clamps into the stock, then watching how the eccentric screw was engaging to ensure that it was turning toward the stock and not away from it.

3 Likes