Trouble with... well I don't know what's causing the problem

Hello,

Absolute noob to Shapeoko and CNC. Hoping for a little guidance.

For the record, I am using Carbide Create and Motion.

I got my Shapeoko XXL about a week and a half ago and put it together, following the directions meticulously. Most of the cuts have been very solid, however there is one program that doesn’t seem to play nice and I can’t figure out why.

The initial plunge depth is way to deep. All other cuts are at the proper depth that I set. On a diagonal cut it produces a wavy line. I’ve attached the CC file.

It also cut all the way through 1.5" stock when I only told it to go down 1.25".

I could really use some advice.

Thank you.

CNC Side Brace.c2d (8.0 KB)

Here’s the end result.
IMG_5412

Did you zero your z axis with the touch plate?

1 Like

Unfortunately I don’t have that toy yet, but will be getting the touch plate as soon as they’re back in stock.

I did, however, use the piece of paper method to zero the z axis prior to running the program.

For this particular cut - does the tool you’ve selected in Carbide Create match the tool you’re using to actually cut?

If there is a bit change involved (between this poor cut and the other good cuts) - did you re-zero your Z after the bit change?

Is the material thickness on this cut/file the same as the actual material thickness? Is it the same as the material thickness set on your other cut files?

The waviness - is the cut rate too high possibly? Maybe if the plunge depth is too great (caused by an error above) the machine is pushing the tool beyond it’s limits and you’re getting flex? How much of the tool is sticking out of the router - more than required causing flex?

Is there any play in any of your axis that would allow flex? Maybe its only small and not being triggered in other cuts but this one where it’s cutting too deep you’re seeing it?

Scottybeefs,