UGS Suicide Button

I have been using UGS for a few months now and one thing really troubles me. I still am tempted to push the “return to zero” button on occasion, but every time I do really really bad things happen. Normally my Shapeoko 3 (Sparkfun ed.) slams against one or two limits and then dives into the wasteboard damaging the bit.

Near as I can tell this never works even though it would be fairly useful if it did. To me it should move gracefully to the last time I RESET ZERO but it never does. Am I missing a step like saving some parameter?

In general I don’t see any helpful documentation on UGS. Has anybody found something the would explain some of these things like how to save offsets, what reset zero actually means, etc. ?

It’s this somewhat opaque nature that turned me away from ugs, to be honest. I’ve been using grbl-panel and have been extremely happy with it, once you get the hang of how it likes to do things.

I suspect the crash you’re seeing has something to do with a misunderstanding or miscalculation of the coordinates vs the current work offset and the machine position. Specifically G54-G59 work coordinates, G28/G30 pre-defined positions and G92.

When I started moving beyond Carbide Motion (which is great for what it is, don’t get me wrong), I found that doing a dump of my grbl settings and then reading them through next to the grbl configuration explanation page really helped put 2 and 2 together for me about how and why my machine was doing what it was doing.

grbl pre 1.1: https://github.com/grbl/grbl/wiki/Configuring-Grbl-v0.9
grbl 1.1+: https://github.com/gnea/grbl/wiki/Grbl-v1.1-Configuration

Ok thanks. Been to that page many times. GRBL is pretty well documented (unlike UGS).