Update controller to GRBL 1.1?

Hi all!

I’m thinking about updating my Shapeoko 3 XXL from GRBL .9 to 1.1. I have plenty of experience with GRBL in the context of my laser cutter and my MPCNC so I’m not really using the Carbide software.

Is the update for the Carbide controller the same as any other Arduino based GRBL controller - ie load the Arduino IDE, configure, compile, and upload? I’d hate to brick the thing because it uses a different hex file or an odd com protocol.

Thanks all!

Rich

As far as I understand it, yes, the Carbide Controller is just like any other Arduino based GRBL controller. However, make sure you modify the source code to include the SHAPEOKO defaults, and not the GRBL defaults.

// Default settings. Used when resetting EEPROM. Change to desired name in defaults.h
#define DEFAULTS_SHAPEOKO_3

1 Like

Thank you sir!

Where can I find the shapeoko defaults? Are you referring to the GRBL settings or the config.h settings?

Thanks again!

Ack! Missed the rest of your post. THANK YOU!!

My bad. I posted it without the example, and then edited it while you were responding to my original post. The code snippet I posted is made in the config.h.

There’s a button or something which has to be pressed or some such, but it’s a standard Arduino inside the Carbide Motion Machine Control Board, so it ought to work, but…

• there are specific compile-time options which are required by Carbide Motion Machine Control Software
  • Carbide Motion has not yet been updated and released to support Grbl 1.1 (which is a big change and requires explicit support for all but the most basic of operations)
  • warranty support expects/demands a supported configuration, and 1.1 isn’t supported until it’s been officially pushed out by Carbide 3D with a tested set of applications to match.