Vertical striations

This has plagued me for a little while now and is probably caused by any number of things, some advice would be gratefully appreciated.

These vertical striations occur in essentially three places, the mill entry/exit point and at each tab. In the wheel image above the verticals occur in seven places (3 x tabs). This wheel was cut with 0.3 mm last pass (Vcarve) so it obviously occurs at least then.

It could be many things, but first, I need to know what software you are using to (a) design and (b) cut the part. The V-Carve comment is a little confusing, since it is normally used for cutting letters.

Most common reason: The V-Wheels might be a little loose, on one or more axis.

Edit add: It could also mean that you are removing too much material with too small of a diameter cutter and it is simply removing the material when the machine stops momentarily (deflection). Fix: Smaller cuts AND/OR more finish passes.

2 Likes

I’m by no means an expert but have experienced something similar when cutting plywood with a 1/4" and 1/8" bit, using my SO3 and g-code output by Cut2D (Vectric).

My take is that the bit while under load (cutting), deflects. The direction depends on whether you’re inside/outside cutting and whether you’re using a conventional or climb cut.

So you have this bit (and the machine, too) that has deflected while cutting and all of a sudden it isn’t cutting, so I end up with some similar marks.

Using double-sided foam tape tends to worsen the symptoms for me, I think work holding is a contributing factor. Also, the bit deflects less when taking smaller bites, so for real important work I reduce my DOC and see a resulting reduction in that behavior.

3 Likes

If you are using V-Carve Pro or Desktop, try using 3D tabs and leads in and out on the profile cut.

Check your wheels on all axis to ensure they are adjusted properly.

3 Likes