What would ya say, ya do here?

Completely random question, but I’m curious: What professional backgrounds are represented here?

I’m a consultant for a software company, long time furniture builder and carpenter. What do YOU do?

8 Likes

Hey @Adam_Xett. Good question. I’m a Director of Photography in the film industry and would love to make furniture. I bought my Nomad to learn CNC and get my feet wet. Already craving milling a full sheet of plywood.

6 Likes

Currently, I work in child protection as a financial assessment officer. Previously I worked as a property accountant for a hotel chain, a tech support supervisor for a telecom, a business manager for a native government, a hotel/bar manager, a technical administrator for a construction company, a store manager for a retailer in Canada’s north, a research analyst for a tech consulting firm, and a computer support consultant for a university. I studied engineering and computer science in university, and went to college for business administration. Mostly I love technology and making things, even if my skill set is not where I would like it to be. I’m buying an XXL in the new year to combine those two loves, once my new shop is complete.

Edit: I wish I had two likes to give, one for the question, one for the Office Space reference.

5 Likes

I am architect, working in Caribbean .

7 Likes

Graphic designer/typographer — prefer to work in (La)TeX, but lately it’s been a lot of S.T.E.M. — mostly in InDesign, usually using XML, possibly w/ various Applescripts and so forth which I’ve worked up to make things go faster.

4 Likes

I have a one man (me) sign making business on a small island (population 5,000) on the West coast of BC, Canada. Been doing that for 26 years. I have the SO3, an Emblaser 1 laser cutter/engraver and a Graphtec plotter for vinyl cutting.

7 Likes