Will this work on a Nomad? If so I would contract someone to try

The grip is approximately 3" tall and half an inch thick at the middle. I’m just learning about CNC and looking to see if buying a Nomad is for me.
I would want the project cut out of walnut or rosewood. I would provide the .stl file.

Thanks,
JoBuck

1 Like

The Nomad would not have a problem with this, but the wood you are looking to use has too loose of a grain for the detail. You need something denser.

2 Likes

Please forgive my total ignorance, but what is a good species to use for the Nomad? Could you roughly estimate the time the machine would take to process an object like this?

The wood would not be Nomad specific, but specific to the level of detail in the piece you are trying to accomplish. The snake, eagle, and mountains all have lots of little details that cannot be smaller than the grain of the wood you are using if you expect good results.

Machining time also depends on how much material you are removing from the original stock, and how good of a detail pass you are going to have with your final end/ball mill (how small is it).

10-4.
If the stock was cut to minimize waste are we talking 2 hours, 8, all day? Sorry I’m just looking for some general metrics to consider before purchasing.

I cut these on my SO 3. Not as much detail as you but each grip took about 15-20 minutes as I recall. Just did a few for practice. I’m sure I’ll cut more eventually. Not enough time for all my hobbies :grinning:

2 Likes

Griff, Very cool man. Thanks. Am I right to assume you have to monitor the jobs for tool changes? Also, on those Punisher grips did you create the bushing and screw holes with the SO3 or use a press for that?

Thanks. The SO3 did it all. Most was cut with a carbide 1/8” ballnose. Hole and inset plus final profile cut was 1/8” flat endmill