3d carving help needed!

Hey folks,so ive been doing 2d for a couple years on an XXL 3,i have my new 5pro set up and on the trial of CCpro, i cant seem to get this, I open with my setting as .75 thick stock and in this case 16x16inch wood.
I open CCpro and make a square of 15.75 x 15.75, I go into modeling and make a component of it at .75 thick.
i import a PNG (ive tried many different ones with same results)from my folder, i size it to fit and keep trying simulate until it looks good,in this case .200 , I make it as a component and APPLY everything.
I go to tool paths and the .75 stock shows up but the PNG is red ?? any more help on this and next steps would be greatly appreciated
Thank you

I am trying 3D for the first time right now.

I changed the base height setting in CC to be the thickness of my material minus the thickness of the 3D element. Not sure if that is the best way but the simulation worked and it is cutting right now.

The red basically means it is out of bounds with respect to the stock.

1 Like

wow,ok that really helps on the RED issue, but any idea why most PNG and SVG files i down load or convert dont even show up iin my folders when i look to import an image in modeling section ?
Thank you very much

Do you have geometry selected?

Note that you can only import pixel images using Import Image:

SVG files can only be opened, or imported:

My first 3D attempt finished.
I used an Amana 1/8 tapered ball nose for the roughing pass and an Amana 1/16 tapered ball nose for the finish pass.

Rough pass was about 25 minutes and finish pass was about 85 with a .003 stepover. This piece is 4x6. Doing 15.75 square would take forever. I was running a very low 34-40 IPM though. I broke a bit yesterday on a different job and didn’t want a repeat.

This was right off the tool:

This was after some minor sanding with a wheel on a rotary tool and then easing the edges.