A monkey gets his hands on a Shapeoko (Regularly Updated)

Been on the forum for a little while now (can’t thank you guys enough for all the inspiration and guidance!) and thought I should make myself a user gallery and “show off” a little bit. I am a “finish” carpenter by trade and make most of my income from custom projects in that realm. The rest of my time is spent in my garage shop making signs, coasters, and other odds and ends to sell at a couple retail spots I have around town. Everything pictured was made with Carbide Create (with a little help from Inkscape) using Carbide Motion on a mostly stock Shapeoko XXL. I’m happy to answer any questions you may have and thanks again for all the help!

applying the Shapeoko to the jobsite:

Used the shapeoko to cut the copper inlay pocket and dadoes for the bottom panel:

Some commissions:

battery operated, with a no-contact switch. (Big shout out to @robrob for his post!)

More to come soon!

59 Likes

that is fabulous stuff! awesome

2 Likes

Really nice work! The inlays look sharp.

1 Like

Looks like your from E. TN…I’m in Knoxville…just picked up the CnC bug a couple of weeks ago.

2 Likes

Pm me. I would be glad to chat and share anything about my experience thus far. I’m an open book.

1 Like

I am loving the new flat bottom Vcarving feature in Carbide Create.

15 Likes

Did you do any kind of manual clean-up or ? Very sharp and clean ! Tramming must be near perfect.

1 Like