Affordable 3D cam software for hobbyists

I’m a highschool engineering student and I can’t really afford to purchase something like meshcam. I’ve been extremely successful with 2D/ psuedo 2.5D machining using Inkscape, CC, and CM but I want to start moving on to more complex jobs. Anyone have any suggestions for a decent program?

Autodesk Fusion 360 is free for hobbyists.

1 Like

Does that generate gcode? And does it work with CM? I heard about it before but haven’t looked too deep into it.

Yes and yes. It includes a CAM section and will drive a Shapeoko/Nomad. I don’t think it interfaces directly with CM, but you can use other packages (bCNC, Universal-GCode-Sender, etc) to send the gcode to your Shapeoko/Nomad.

One of the Carbide 3D devs also sells MeshCAM (which is bundled w/ the Nomad).

Free/opensource stuff is listed at: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/CAM#3D

Commercial options: http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Commercial_Software#3D_CAM

I Really liked my meshcam trial but I really cant afford that kind of price tag without an actual job.Hopefully as I get more income I’ll be able to get it later, but until then I’ll try fusion 360 like he recommended. If that doesnt work I’ll look at that list of opensource ones you gave. I appreciate the help though.

Is meshacam still being updated?

As a student, most of the autodesk tools are available free in unrestricted form. Fusion360 is available to anyone, but it is less polished and has fewer features than some of the other products. This is not to say that is isn’t quite good as it is, but compared to some other products (Inventor, Solidworks) it is lacking. It does have really awesome toolpath generation.