Anyone living in Illinois using a Shapeoko XXL?

I am new to this field and have not purchased a machine at this time but would like to visit/talk with anyone who might be willing to explain how the machine works and why it should be added to my shop. I am interested in both large and small projects running from signs, to inlays, part creation and anything else I have not thought of at this time.

Thanks in advance,
Mike Wollesen

3 Likes

Hey Welcome! I am on the north shore and a hobbiest who has had a Shapoko XL for about 3 months. I have had a lot of success with it and happy to share my thoughts and opinions. Meeting in person may be a challenge as I do work full time and am juggling 2 toddlers and a newborn.

2 Likes

Wow, I’m impressed. I can’t even juggle 2 tennis balls. :joy:

3 Likes

Can you tell me why you chose Shapoko over something like an xcarve? I am trying to figure out which would be a better machine for me and what I am thinking about doing with it. I know that is sort of open but I am still not sure what I can do with the machine. If we can handle this via messages or email that will work for me as well. My email is tinman9@comcast.net if that will make it easier.

Thanks,
Mike Wollesen

Continuing the discussion from Anyone living in Illinois using a Shapeoko XXL?:

I live in illinois. 60 miles south of Chicago. I just purchased an xxl. I’m still in the assembly stage. The idea behind my purchase is to use it as a marker shop and have people come operate and use it. I needed to justify the purchase since I will personally not use it that much. If anyone is in the area and would like to check it out, stop on over.

If you haven’t found it, the official Carbide 3D answer on that is here:

https://carbide3d.com/vs/shapeoko-vs-xcarve/