Basic steps for converting Inkscape .svg to Carbide Create

Hello - very newbie here, so I apologize for the simplicity of this question. I realize this is probably like asking someone how to make something bold in a Word document - but here goes: I’m a designer, and I’ve created some basic signage that my brother will be doing the routing on, using his router/Carbide Create. I’ve got a draft of a sign in Inkscape that I’ve converted to .svg, but I can’t seem to get the entirety of the design to show in Carbide Create when I open it.

I tried googling the issue: I’ve got it in View>Outline Mode. I selected the objects and selected Path>Object to Path, and saved as .svg - but when I open it in CC, it’s the wrong size, and there is a center line missing. I’m sure there’s another step in there I’m missing.

I don’t know much about how all of this works, and I don’t see any info about this in the CC documentation (just a mention that it can import .svg files). I don’t understand enough to know where to start, so I’m hoping someone has the complete steps for me to take a fresh design from Inkscape and convert it correctly. If there’s a link to another forum discussion where this is already listed, send it my way - I couldn’t find anything that was a simple step by step process. I just need to get the design to show in CC - once there, my brother can create the routing paths, etc. - so this is really about file prep before starting in CC.

Thanks in advance!

Carbide Create is pretty basic / simple.

As the community notes, Shapeoko CNC Router, Rigid, Accurate, Reliable, and Affordable

• no overlapping or intersecting geometry (if possible — overlapping geometry is often discarded)
  • no pixel images
  • some files will work more reliably when winding direction is correct (outermost path is counterclockwise, next is clockwise and alternate as needed)