[Beginner Alert] Surfacing the wasteboard, and spindle angle

Hello esteemed forum members,
I am new to CNC so please excuse the beginner questions, and thank you for your patience :slight_smile:

I (believe I) successfully assembled and squared my Shapeoko 3XL, used Fusion 360 to model a wasteboard, and successfully created it from MDF.
It has 13x7 matrix of M6 inserts (from the bottom) and a few wood screws that hold it firmly to the original MDF wasteboard. The latter holes are slightly off-line with the former, due to boring them from the opposite side, and forgetting to compensate for the Y delta… lesson learned, no harm done.

I am now attempting to surface the wasteboard and make it 100% aligned with the spindle.
Attached is a photo of my wasteboard surface after a single surfacing run.
I can already see that will need a second run, as the back center was not surfaced (left center in photo) which means it is slightly lower on Z. I understand that’s OK and expected, and the reason for surfacing.
Before I run another surfacing job, my question is whether or not the visible path of the surfacing bit is normal, and what it means.
I’m using a Whiteside “1” straight cut CNC Spoilerboard surfacing Carbide Tipped" bit.
It seems that the ‘border’ between the surfacing paths is not consistent.
At some points the border can be ‘felt’ by sliding a fingernail across it, and at other spots it is hardly noticeable even visually.
If it is due to the spindle angle not being perpendicular to the board, how would I adjust it, when the angle seems to be inconsistent across various places on the board?

You need to square your spindle, and possibly your Z-axis spindle carriage / gantry extrusion. See: https://wiki.shapeoko.com/index.php/Calibration_and_Squaring_the_Machine#Squaring_the_Spindle

Remember when squaring work from large -> small.

2 Likes