Bit not centering on Y axis

Need some help. Today I wanted ton engrave a design on a box top. I decided to run a test on scrap 1st to see how it would look. The test piece of wood was the same dimensions as the box top and I had the piece centered in carbide motion. I set it to run and it engraved on the centre of the X axis but was 1/16 inch of an inch out on the Y axis. What do I need to do to correct that? Any help is appreciated.

How did you set zero?

I find the most accurate way to set zero for center is to use a V endmill.

For this sort of work where dimensions/placement are critical I usually secure a bit of sacrificial stock (or a layer of my spoilboard) and route out a pocket matching the part I want to cut, place the piece in the pocket and secure it, then cut.

I use the bit setter. I also set it manually using a 1/16 inch bit as I thought my bit setter may have misfunctioned. same result both ways.

I am relatively new to this. perhaps my home settings are not right? donā€™t know how to do that. also when I initialize the machine it goes to the back right hand corner and grinds loudly for a second or two before moving slightly and the grinding stops. it then comes to the front center for installation of a bit.

check that a " v-wheel" is not hitting a belt clip and that the belt is cog in cog at the clip.
That noise might be from the idler pulley climbing on a mis-stacked belt, or a v-wheel colliding with a belt clip.
or a limit switch

1 Like

How did you position the BitZero for center?

I placed the bitzero on the lower left hand corner of the wood. Then probed for x,y,and z.