Boring through unknown steel with a Nomad

So I managed to break off an M4 thread tap in a chunk of 7075 Aluminium and I’d like to get it out.

This is my first time milling steel, let alone boring but I set up a bore operation in HSMWorks:

• 1/8", 0.5" LOC, 2-flute uncoated C3D endmill (102? 112?)
  • 5mm hole diameter
  • 0.05mm pitch
  • 200mm/min feed
  • 6k RPM

I’ve so far got to ~6mm deep and it’s quite loud but it is cutting; a good chunk of the thread tap has been removed.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I could improve this?

Before anyone asks, I have no clue what kind of steel this is. It came in this set, which seems to be Chinese.

The 0.05mm pitch looks good, 6k might be a little fast depending on type of steel. Also I would recommend a 4 flute endmill, a 2 flute can work but it’s going to wear out very fast.

Are you running coolant because cutting through a hard tap its going to get hot really quick.

1 Like

How low would you go on RPM?

I do have some 4-flute endmills I could use but they’re a bit nicer and I’d rather not sacrifice them. The 2-flute endmills I’m using are ones I doubt I’d use for anything else so I’m fine with breaking them.

The only coolant I have is airblast. Not much more I can do without making a mess. This is a fairly hefty chunk of Aluminium though, it should act like a heatsink, shouldn’t it? I also felt the endmill after cutting and it wasn’t hot at all.

lowest I would be around 4000.

If you do have 2 flute endmills your are willing to sacrifice you can use those, you will just have to feed them slower then you would the 4 flute.

Air blast should be fine, on hardened tool steel airblast actually works better then flood coolant.

1 Like

Why use a tool?

Use chemistry and simply dissolve the tap and leave the aluminum behind undisturbed.

Get some alum (aluminum potassium sulfate), mix it up (directions are easy to find), keep warm/apply heat, and wait, then clean things up.

2 Likes