Can the Nomad cut this object out of aluminum?

I’ve been 3D printing these brackets (see attached image) for a research project I’m working on. I’d prefer to make them out of aluminum, but plastic has worked OK, and up until now a 3D printer is the only means by which I could make them anyway. Unfortunately my 3D printer is down for the count, which has me thinking about the possibility of purchasing a Nomad with the hopes of finally making these pieces out of aluminum. Although I have some machining experience on a mill, I’ve never used a CNC cutter before, and am not super familiar with the constraints and size limitations of the Nomad. Before I purchase a Nomad for this project, I would appreciate any opinions on whether the machine could feasibly cut this particular object out of aluminum, or an object similar to this? Apologies for the hastily assembled schematic. Dimensions are in mm. Thanks!

If you’re willing to accept filleting around some areas where an endmill won’t be able to reach, yes.

It would be a lot of setups though — this is a part which would be far easier on a lathe or machine w/ a 4th axis.

I wouldn’t say ‘no you can’t’ but I would say ‘how much difficulty are you willing to tolerate?’ There is alot of complexity there for a 3 axis machine. Probably 3 setups (run program, manually reorient part, run program, manually reorient part, run program) all of which require alot of precision reorienting. As @WillAdams notes, a 3 axis mill will not be able to reproduce perfectly as there are angles there a end mill will not be able to get into.

1 Like

let’s hope C3D releases the fourth axis upgrade for the SPK Pro in time for the holidays :grinning:

2 Likes

I wonder if this could be a case where a hybrid approach makes sense (milling a “core” part and then 3D-printing the pieces that do not lend themselves to milling easily, and assembling the parts). Of course with your printer being dead that’s not very helpful, just food for thought.