Carbide 3D vs SparkFun Shapeoko 3

I couldn’t find a current version of the differences between the SparkFun and Carbide3D versions of the Shapeoko (aside from the color). Currently SparkFun has theirs on sale for $900, and the Dewalt 611 is on sale for $100, but I wonder if I’m missing out on anything!

The first thing I noticed was SparkFun doesn’t mention the Summer 2016 upgrades, specifically the homing switches. I’d rather save the $100 and get the Dewalt router over the Makita, but not if I’m missing out on things I’m unaware of!

I’m a complete CNC newbie, this would be my first machine.

The Red Sparkfun S3 Machine is:

A The full “kit” version requiring Stepper mounting and v wheel mounting,etc.
B It has the v1 flat z plate
C 6mm belts and pulleys
D No homing switches
E Different Motion controller board.

Heres a video:

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response! Can you elaborate on the difference in motion controller boards? All the other items sound like straightforward upgrades. Would either unit be better to learn on, more industry standard, more expandable/hackable, etc?

Just my two cents on the above differences:

The newer Z plate is a must. Only a $20 upgrade (although currently sold out), but you’ll want your z-stage as rigid as possible.

I also wouldn’t pass up the homing switches, either. Being able to return to a known position is incredibly useful, especially if you want to restart a job and had to power cycle the machine (it’ll happen, trust me :wink: ) But you’ll need the home switches to determine a known origin.

@ELund

The Carbide 3D board has a dedicated second Y driver, and better USB isolation.
Its a better board.

FYI: If you want you can buy the “stepoko” board.

One further difference is that the Stepoko board is available under an opensource license.

http://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Shapeoko_3#Other_Versions

Differences between Carbide 3D and Sparkfun kits: SO3: SparkFun vs Carbide 3D