Carbide Create Update Issues

Hey Guys,

I have been using carbide create for about 4 months now and recently upgraded to the Pro version with the free trail that was offered. I had reinstalled the program for the upgrade and am currently using build #464.

I have been having issues with the time for my toolpaths since the upgrade. Things that would have taken roughly 30 minutes in the old program are now taking about 50. I looked into it further and saw the feeds and rpms’s for bits had also changed. I swear the old #302 rpms were around 8000 where they are now 18000? Also if I change the feed rate from 40 to 100 there is no difference in the time for the toolpath. Plungerate also makes no difference. Am I doing something wrong in the new upgrade with pro or has other users been experiencing these issues?

Thanks for any help.

I should mention this is for a normal Vcarve tool path such as lettering and stars.

Supposedly they have changed the feeds and speeds to more accurate F&S for the Shapeoko. I think most of the older F&S were for the Nomad. In the data directory you can add your own library and insert what ever tools you want with the F&S you want. The original F&S that Carbide 3d is still there but you can customize your own tool data base to what ever you want. There are quite a few articles on the forum about how you create the custom library.

If you go and look at the same tool for a nomad for hardwood and softwood you will see F&S differences as well as for the Shapeoko. Since the F&S is tuneable for a particular purpose they gave you the ability to add tools that C3d does not make and modify their tools to your own specifications.

One other thing is when CC estimates a time to cut, CM recalculates and is more accurate.

1 Like