Changing end mills results in a an x/y offset

After having my Shapeoko for over a year this weekend was my first time trying multiple bits, I’m a simple man. :slight_smile: I got a 90 degree vbit to add some chamfers and this is when I noticed it. After the pocket operation I changed the end mill, homed the machine and then told it to go back to the offset and it appeared to be correct but after the operation ran it was off by a little (1-2mm). I tried another toolpath just to make sure it wasn’t that and when that was off I made a test model. The test model was a simple pocket circle. I cut it once, shut the machine off, didn’t touch the end mill and then proceeded to home, set z and run again. I noticed that in the +x/y there was a little movement as I could hear it grabbing new wood when it was in this direction only and so small it didn’t even make dust but I could hear it. I did this two more times and when looking at the pocket it was visually noticeable it was off a little so it appears after a reset (or just movement) it’s drifting in the x/y? What should I check first, what’s the best way to test this going forward? Thanks

Try not to home on end mill changes…

1 Like

Why shut the machine off? For a bit change I just turn off the router, jog it to a convenient location, change the bit, re-zero Z and run the new file. I know the controller “should” hold the offsets, but why take that chance? If the limit switch differs by even a tiny amount, the new path will be off by that tiny amount as well.

Stan

1 Like

That’s how I did it the first two times actually, and when it wasn’t lined up o figured I did something wrong and some other threads explained how you should home it between changes because it’s likely to move it while changing end mills so I started doing it that way. Both ways end it offsets after the tool change.

did you remove power to the steppers (e.g. the CC board) when changing tools?