Depth Cut Issue off 0.2" - help?

Hello

I am fairly new at all of this but I keep running into a consistent problem and I am not sure what I am doing wrong.

I use the bit setter and the first 3 times I’ve tried to use the machine I cut into my table. I measured multiple times and my depth is accurate. The difference in thickness is 0.2".

This last project I tried had a depth of .70". In carbide create I set it to 0.50" and when I ran the program it worked perfectly.

I haven’t tried it on a second project yet to see if it’s consistently off this much. However, it seems like this is some sort of calibration issue.

Can anyone help me figure it out? I appreciate the help and support.

Thanks

If you jog Z manually by 1inch, how much does it actually move?
One possibility for a wrong Z calibration is selecting the wrong Z axis type when initially sending machine configuration. It’s easy to make the mistake of selecting HDZ when you actually have a Zplus, or vice versa

3 Likes

So the proper procedure to set your zeros are as follows.

1. Initialize and you can put in any bit just as long as you put in a bit. I try to put in the first bit I am going to use or my #302 because I typically center my zero for X and Y.

2. After initialization jog your machine to the approximate place you want to make X and Y zero.