Dropping Z axis

Good morning! I am a newbie here and have only been running my XXL for about 2 months. I am in need of dropping the z axis by 0.1" and have tried everything my newbie mind can think of. So here is my project and thoughts…I have pocketed 0.1" down leaving a raised edge and word on board. Now I want to go back and engrave on the pocketed area with a different tool. When I home the machine and do the rapid on the xy, the router is on top of the raised lettering, so my thoughts were to zero the z there and then change the position to -0.1, enter and close, but it always runs the same path. Any thoughts, comments, suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks!

Reverse the order of these. Lower the Z, THEN set your zero.

1 Like

I forgot to mention…I tried that first and it ran the same path.

Usually for stuff like this, I go into Carbide Create, disable all the original toolpaths, then create a new one which starts at the previous cut depth and cuts as deeply as desired.

1 Like

Excuse my ignorance but can you tell me how to do that on a v carve toolpath?
I will be using a 90 v bit.

note that the position needs to be set to +0.1 not -0.1

if you zero from the original you are 0.1 above where you want the “real” zero to be, not 0.1 below

Unfortunately V carve in Carbide Create doesn’t afford a control for that — you’d need to lower the Z origin.

So I was looking at the #301 tool, can I change the depth per pass? Would that make a difference?

Checking your feeds and speeds and depth per pass may help to not need to make this adjustment.

@tbaggett How do you normally set your Z zero?
Do the same thing, but in your pocket.

That would be wonderful but no matter where I set my “toolpath zero” (center, center left, bottom left, etc.) it is going to be 0.1" too high. Or I would have to readjust my whole design I would assume? Am I thinking correctly?