First Aluminum cuts

I finally started milling aluminum using @wmoy recipes. I strayed on the last cut as I ran my .125in endmill at .01 DOC instead of .001 but the bit had no problem and there was no chatter however, I think the temperature of the part was increasing but I increase the router speed and used a constant blast of compressed air.

I made cone wrenches that will fit in tight places with one side open and the other closed. I had a design problem with the first two as the critical dimensions somehow got messed up but the last works perfectly. I’m still learning from my mistakes. The finish is good but not great, a little time under a buffing wheel should take care of most of these blemishes.

I designed the wrenches using VCarve Pro. I used three different bits: Carbide’s 102Z and 112Z as well as a regular 30deg V bit.

8 Likes

What z-axis do you have? That doesn’t look like the stock one. If you have a more rigid one, you can for sure use the DoC you use and more aggressive chiploads compared to Winston because he has a stock z-axis.

I have Mr. Beaver’s EasyTram and upgraded V wheels for the Z so it may be a bit stiffer than the original but it certainly is not an HDZ. There was no chatter and I think I could push more but I want to minimize the heat. I’m still learning F&S to know to determine what parameter I should increase. I want to make more cone wrenches to make a set so I can increase the F&S and experiment on the next one.

Got it, I wasn’t sure which one due to the red color so that makes sense. Yeah, just step up the chipload to push it and try increasing the DoC. I wouldn’t push the 0.125in endmill beyond 0.025 DoC in with your setup.

2 Likes

Nice to get functional parts!

What are the exact feeds and speeds you used? Here’s the funny thing about heat input in the cut. Increasing the rpm without increasing the feed speed will actually decrease the chipload and if it reaches too small it will increase heat input and cause rubbing.