Help with Nomad Classic errors! Has been reflashed!

I have been having trouble with my machine and “limit switch” errors … I am new to this machine (recently Borrowed from a friend) … I ran several small projects with no problems but wanted to upgrade the software and so I reflashed the machine. The machine worked well after the upgrade as well!

The only recent change is to the material I am using? I had been making wood projects but recently switched to HDPE … ever since the machine has been acting up!

I can see the machine actually “Arc” as if it has a short before each failure … the arc appears in the lower left of the machine as seen from the front. it is where the spindle chassis frame meets the bed.

Is this repairable? do I need a new switch? I have seen other people having trouble because of grounding issues? Before I start ripping things up I would love the advice of anyone that knows more on the subject?

HDPE machining creates tremendous static. HDPE is plastic and even a piece laying a bench seems to charge up with static.

You may have an electrical problem check that out by unplugging and inspecting closely for loose connections.

Most likely it is just static and there are many threads about stopping static on Carbide3d machines.

Arc as electrical arcing ? :scream: …or just a mechanical glitch/jerk just before it stops ?

You lost me there, do you have a pic maybe of where you mean ?

You mention limit switch errors, could you post the exact error message you see reported ?

1 Like

Please contact us at support@carbide3d.com

Mention you have a Classic and send any photos which you think would be helpful.

Arc as in “stuck a fork in the outlet, good ole electrical arc” … I am seeing the flash in the seam where the upper framework and bed come together on the left-hand side looking in (As pointed out by my bear friend).