Help with Text Necklace

Hi all,
After watching Winston’s video where he makes the carbide 3d text necklace, i’ve been inspired to try making one myself with my pro. I’ll most likely be using a 1/32 endmill but I’m a little worried about breaking it as i’ve never used a 1/32 in metal before. Any tips and tricks anyone could share to make the process go smoothly? I thought i would start with the speeds/feeds from the video and go from there. Thanks!

• small tools don’t like deflection. At all. So keep the stickout to a minimum, and making very shallow passes. A very conservative depth per pass is your best friend when first trying small tools.
  • ideally, check router runout. Micro-machining tools are very sensitive to excessive runout, simply because it will make the actual load on the cutter vary significantly. For example, 0.005" runout may not matter much for a 1/4" endmill, but for a 1/32" endmill it’s 15% of the diameter, so it will end up making the actual chipload vary by +/- 15% over a revolution.
  • In metal, a little lubrication and/or and air jet help. And of course ramping into the material rather than plunging.
1 Like

Thanks for helpful reply. I’ve seen talk of ramping instead of plunging in these forums but i’m not quite sure what it means. I suspect ramping is an option in more advanced cad/cam software? I’m pretty new so i’ve been sticking with Carbide Create.

Yes, “ramping” means having the tool enter the material along an angled path rather that plunging straight down, and indeed it is an option in other cad/cam software like Fusion360, Carbide Create does not support it (yet). That said, if you go slow for the plunge and use a small depth per pass, it will work just fine.

1 Like