Is the Shapeoko the right fit for me?

Hi there,

I’m very excited about the idea of having a CNC machine at home and the Shapeoko looked really like a great first machine, but being a complete noob, I realize that I can’t determine if it’s the right fit for my needs…

So I thought I’d ask the more experienced folks here!

The machine would need to take on these tasks:

• Small to medium electronic enclosures (Raspberry, Arduino, …).
  • Robotic related stuff (mostly drone’s frames but also some smaller parts).
  • Resin mold making.
  • Small to medium furnitures.

All those tasks would be done with plastic or wood.

I considered buying a Nomad 883 Pro, but I found it’s build volume too small and the price too high for my current budget. I’ve read that the Shapeoko could take on reasonably small works, is it true and to what extent?

Note that when I say “small works” I’m aware that the Nomad 883 Pro is way more accurate but as a beginner not looking to do some clock works, I’m wondering if I could feel “frustrated” with the Shapeoko accuracy…

I’ve also read that Makita is somewhat better for plastic milling than DeWalt due to its wider RPM range, is it accurate?

Living in France I’m planning to buy a 220V Makita router, would the rest of the Shapeoko works also on 220V? Do I need to buy a French electrical outlet adapter?

Coming from this guide, and being a complete noob in CNC, I struggle to understand how to choose a collets based on criteria like the TIR is there any chance you can point me in the right direction based on what I said above?

Thank you for your time and patience :slight_smile:

1 Like

Yes, the Shapeoko should be fine for that, working within its capabilities. Like any hobby machine, it’s a matter of learning the machines capabilities. The machine is capable of better accuracy than a fair number of machinists.

Yes, the Makita is favoured by some folks doing plastics and metalworking for the lower RPM