Long Projects? using the shapeoko

Hello im new to the shapeoko and im wondering why sometime when i put in a toolpath it can say like 200minutes, is there anyway to speed that up why is it going to take so long to do a toolpath

Could be any number of things - a large area to machine, a slow feed rate or depth of cut, small bit, etc. The time estimate in carbide create can also be off from the actual runtime in carbide motion, sometimes significantly. Might be best for you to post your c2d file, or at least a screenshot here of the toolpath screen for better critique.

An example would be surfacing something the size of a cutting board with an 1/8 or 1/4 inch end Mill versus a 1-in surfacing bit. You can do it a lot faster with a larger bit.

1 Like

Well i just dont understand everone says use vcarve for detailed work but when i do mine it doesnt work or is going to take like over 200minutes which makes no sense to me

What program are you using?
If carbide create, the advanced v-carve option can save a lot of time by making sure you enable pocket tool, which basically does a clear of the larger areas, and then the vcarve does the smaller areas.

Also if you have a lot of details that can add up.
Also if you have the proper speeds set. V-carving something in aluminium is going to take quite a bit longer than in some hardwood.

If you wouldn’t mind posting a picture of what you’re trying to do we might be able to offer better advice.

1 Like

It wont let me upload the file im trying to send through carbide create can i email to you

Vcarve can result in a lot of moves, including a lot of retracts. Setting an appropriate retract height can help reduce a lot in that case, but you should really post your file so we can see the details. Zip it or change the file extension.

Try saving the carbide create file. The .nc file sent to the machine isn’t as friendly to help troubleshoot with.

Untitled-B-01