Looking for some help with my toolpaths

I’ve designed a bezel that I want to mill out of wood (acacia) and I’m looking for someone to check over my toolpath before I try milling it, I’ve never done anything before 2.5d / with curves/angles before so this is a first for me (only 2d stuff). I have two bits, a flat and a bullnose (1/4 in). In my preview i kept getting ridges with the bullnose so i switched to the flat, but again that could just be me not knowing what I’m doing.

Any help appreciated, thanks!!!

F3D File:

This body shape is going to be quite hard to machine on a 2.5 axis machine like a Shapeoko or Nomad.

The non-vertical angles on the front and rear upright sections are going to be an issue, if you machine flat then one will end up with a stair ramp down it, the other would be an undercut.

You could make a fixture to elevate the front and hold the whole piece at an angle where the internal sides are vertical and those internal ramps on the sides become horizontal. You’d need to be quite careful about workholding rigidity and setting zero though.

There are a few more internal corners which will come out a bit rounded off, those at the edge of the side slot for example.

I’d suggest thinking carefully about whether you really need those different angles on the front and back, if you do, it’s probably machine a workholding fixture time.

3 Likes

You make a very good point, and I didn’t think about that. I’m rethinking the whole design now. Maybe split it in half, mill the flat part upper, and then a separate angled base? That would give a better finish on the top too as there would not be steps.

I do need all the angles… so that might be the only way to do it. Or the workholding fixture like you said, but I am also not really sure how to do that.

1 Like

What does your stock for this look like?

Are you cutting this from a single solid block or glueing up four sides and cutting from that?

It’s a single stock, block of Acacia about 45mm thick.

OK,