Newbie trying to get started - going from bad to worse

Hi, I’m eager to dive into the world of cnc, but I am a true novice; been struggling all day with various user error issues regarding zeroing the machine out (previously foreign term) and getting x and y confused. I thought I had those issues sorted out, but there has been no successful carve to prove it; indeed, I seem to have landed in major malfunction territory. I I’m only trying to make the iphone stand project that is a Meshcam tutorial. Here is what came out when I hit L as I attempted another crack at it - I hope someone can make heads or tails of it.

Test Waiting…
<Alarm,MPos:0.000,0.000,0.000,WPos:0.000,0.000,0.000,Buf:0,RX:0,Ln:0,F:0.>
error: Alarm lock
CarbideMotion 0.9g
[’$H’|’$X’ to unlock]
___________$X ___________
error: Line overflow
ok
ok
ok
ok
gc_motion
___________N0G0X-120.000 ___________
ok
ok
ok
ok
ok
ok
ok
CarbideMotion 0.9g
[’$H’|’$X’ to unlock]
___________$X ___________
error: Line overflow

I’m really sorry for the trouble- we’ll get it working for you.

Looking at that log, it’s difficult to make out what’s going on. Can you make sure to try the beta of CarbideMotion V2 from http://carbide3d.com/downloads

Did you do the wrench tutorial with the provided gcode? Was that any different?

-Rob

I’m not sure if I will be able to help - but my Nomad is arriving tomorrow (so says FedEx), and my plan is to start documenting my journey into CNC from the ground up. I’m brand new to this as well, with the exception of having some experience in working with a small machine shop a number of years ago to make me some custom aluminum parts for Ford Mustangs.

In any case - I do videography on the side, so the plan is to record each step of my journey with the Nomad. I should be starting my first cut later this week, so I’ll post back with my experience and will also have some video to share.

Darren: