Odd stop mid Operations?

Hello all, this is my first post on here

So I have been using my Shapeoko XXL for around 4 months now and I’m loving it, however, this morning I was facing a bit of wood and about 25% into the job, the shapeoko stopped moving. I had just finished the same G-code on a different bit of wood, the same facing operation and that first one went well. The power was on and didn’t cut out also the spindle was running. I made the G-code using fusion 360, with no tool changes.

Once I noticed it stopped moving I had a look at carbide motion and it had not noticed that there was an issue although the % and the lines of code had stopped moving as well. The only options for me, turn the power off or pause from within carbide motion. I tried pausing it but that didn’t do anything. the Z-axis didn’t even lift up like normal.

I am a stumped about why it may do that if anyone has any pointers. I would love to have an idea of what just happened.

Stay Safe

EMI disconnect most likely — check your carbon brushes in your trim router, if not that, grounding and so forth. If you write in to support@carbide3d.com we have a 10-step plan.

2 Likes

Hey Will, thanks for your reply

the EMI is the leed that runs from the shapeoko to the PC?

I dont think it can be the router as its in no way connected to the shapeoko

= electromagnetic interference

When the brushes wear, the router generates more electrical “noise”. That can interfere with the communication between your SO3 and the computer.

6 Likes

I know the CM peeps are very excited about their Raspberry Pi efforts… but is there scope in CM to cater for disconnections mid-job?

You know… pause and wait to reconnect, continue from last instruction, etc…

My understanding is that the timeout period in Carbide Motion was increased from CM3 to CM4 and CM5 has that same longer period.