Pocket or contour with a V-bit?

So I am a total newbie still. I have been doing some carving on some smaller detail pieces and I have been using smaller and smaller bits. i have a .024 for some small pocket stuff. As i want to get smaller than that, I have heard that I can use a v-bit for that. HUH? Really? I thought V-bits were only for V-carving. So my question is how do I set the depth of cut on a V-bit? If I am using A 30 degree bit do I set it as a pocket or a contour? Someone said the V bit wont go to deep enough to go across the dimensions of the carve. Is that what i mean? I guess basically, I want to cut a fine detail toolpath that wont go beyond the boundries I want to engrave.

So lets say I want to cut a shape, that is .01 wide. Can I use a 30 degree bit that is a .125 diameter? I guess I don’t understand. I try to set that toolpath in Create and the simulation appears that I am not cutting anything. Doesn’t even show the toolpath or movement.

Sorry for the long question, I feel I have made it to confusing.

so no a vbit is not smaller like that if you use it as a normal pocket or contour.

but if you vcarve the corner, the top of the corner will be “sharp”… just not all the way straight down… there’ the angle on the way down.

You can do an interesting hybrid but it;s not perfect: You can do an advanced vcarve (so main pocket with a flat bit, and then the vbit does the contour and the corners) followed by a inside contour of your normal flat bit. In all places where the flat bit can get to, it’ll be perfectly normal straight (90 degree or whatever you want to call it) but in corners… it won’t be, but the top of the corner will be sharp.

also note that most vbits are not “infinite small” in their point if you put them under a microscope… there’s a flat bottom at some level. they’re tiny. but almost never perfect… well at least the budget ones I end up buying.

3 Likes