Popping and rough edges aluminum 1/8"

Hi all,
I am relatively new to CNCing, at least with the Shapeoko Pro 5 with a VFD. I am cutting 6061 aluminum McMaster-Carr (89015K68) using a YONICO 1/8" 0-flute (#31012-SC).

I am running at 18,000 RPM, plunging at 3, feeding at 15, and depth per plunge at 0.015. (I hope those units are self-explanatory.)

In the last few weeks I have used the exact same set up and all has worked great. But I just received a new 2x4’ sheet of the 6061 and started cutting and it has been rough. I am getting frayed edges for any diameter whole and some knocks and pops I have never heard before. It was worse when I had the feed and DPP higher so I brought them down to the levels noted above.

I also did some cutting without the vacuum, and the VFD is very quiet, so I have ruled out bearings. (it is only 6 months old and is used only weekly for a few hours. )

It is a 14 hour cut and I am monitoring it. All seems to be going according to plan but the knocking, popping and frayed edges are unique.

Could it be bad aluminum? Any other ideas? I have offered a picture and a short video.

Thanks, in advance, if anyone has any ideas.

Ben

video link: https://photos.app.goo.gl/CMWTuVbE15y7fdBZ9

How old is the endmill?

I cut quite a bit of thin aluminum sheet and have had better success going with a shallower doc, .01 or less, and really bumping up the feedrate. Im sure others may disagree with that approach but it works well for me. You could also run a chamfer pass to clean up the edges, even with “perfect” settings i find a little clean up is usually necessary.

end mill is brand new.

A chamfer pass is not something I considered. Good idea.

Any ideas on the odd knocking and popping?

Generally, I’d look at chip evacuation for the knocking and popping. (If I’m imagining the sound right). Maybe a little air in the cut to help clear?