Replace spindle with pencil grinder?

There are several threads on changing the motor or spindle on the nomad to get increased spindle speeds.

What about adapting the head to hold an air powered die/pencil grinder? I’ve been looking around and there are a lot of options for something like this. Speeds up to 60K or more, rated at .1 HP

Seems like something like this with a front exhaust could work pretty well.

Possible downsides are

• Cost of grinder and suitable air source. This is not an issue for me as I would love to have a pencil grinder around for other stuff.
  • Continuous use? cheap die grinders are probably not up to an hour or more of continuous use. Do high end grinders handle continuous duty?
  • Spindle speed would be manual control and not that constant? ie. drops in speed as load increases and there would be no feedback loop.

I’m new to CNC and will stick with the 10K max of the nomad for awhile. However, my interests are in the direction of micro-machining and I’m already starting to feel like I’l end up limited with only 10K RPM. So I’m thinking about possible future directions.

What are your thoughts?
Is there an obvious fault/problem with attempting to use a pencil die grinder?

-Dave

The biggest problem is the die grinders are notorious for runout.

That should have been my first “downsides” - I did think/wonder what the runout would be.

Cheap pencil grinders are going to be a “get-what-you-pay-for” kind of thing. After a little more research, what I’m really looking for is an air motor (don’t care if it comes in a pencil format or not).

Found a cool Ingersoll Rand air motor catalog -

IRITS-0409-044_Air Motor Catalog.pdf on this page:

they have motors specifically designed for milling applications, ie can handle the side loads. However on first scan the closest thing is a 20K rpm that they want you to run at about 12K for max power. So not a great improvement.

Also probably not cheap to get your hands on one.